Holly Recommends…

Decorating Ideas for my “I’m a Giant” HGTV Dollhouse

So, after a busy week I decided I was ready to focus on decorating my yet to be purchased dollhouse for the HGTV “I’m a Giant” Dollhouse challenge. I decided that a few plants might be nice, and I came across this one on ebay:

Tiny Hanging Basket with a Fern

Cute, but a little on the pricey side. Honestly, I wouldn’t spend more than $10 on a real plant, so I cannot justify spending $12.99 on a fake, mini plant.

I moved on to area rugs, and discovered these:

Tiny Turkish or Bulgarian rugs

Rather hearty and heavy like an exotic bowl of stew, they look like they would hide miniature stains fairly well. Their burly appearance somehow implies that they might come with a warm, homey smell attached. I decided that I needed to stop over analyzing my new home’s decor (this was supposed to be lighthearted fun, right?) and just buy them. I took one last look. The bottom one has an 80’s retro feel, I noticed (if you like that) and they are a pretty good deal.

Then I had second thoughts. Having lived through the 80’s, I am not sure I want to go back. Even on a 1:12 scale.

Convinced that I still had not found anything affordable that truly represented my smaller, designing alter-ego, I moved on to what I thought was a great mid century modern hanging bubble chair. Not me in real life, but the smaller me could be freer and funner than the real me. As I looked a little closer, I got an uneasy suspicion that it was actually fashioned from half of a bubble gum prize machine plastic egg, suspended by a chain. I am all about homemade crafts, if I do them myself, but there is something about purchasing someone else’s stretch-of-the-imagination crafties that feels a little sad.

Bubble chair or vending machine bubble?

So my ebay shopping spree has been a bust, but I am not that easily discouraged. I just know the perfect tiny designs await me, and once I find them you will be the first to know.

This entry was published on October 8, 2011 at 12:20 am. It’s filed under Decorating Ideas, Miniatures, Projects and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

