Holly Recommends…

Anthropologie-inspired necklace

When the Anthropologie catalog arrives in the mail, nothing else matters. What can I say; it’s just so inspiring. Here is a small sampling of what they currently have to offer in the way of necklaces:

This photo and the three above it courtesy of http://www.anthropologie.com

As much as I would like to own all of these, I cannot afford to spend $50-400 on a necklace. So off to the craft store I went, determined to make my own.

Once I got there, I quickly became overwhelmed. Making a necklace sounds easy, right? You just put some beads on a piece of string. But there were aisles of gadgets to choose from. Tools and beads and magnetized closures. Man! I used to be kind of crafty. Becoming a homeowner put all my craftiness on the back burner for the past many years, since owning an old house is like one giant, never ending craft project. But I felt that if I just got started, my old crafty ways would come back to me.

This is what I came up with:

Photo by Holly Tierney-Bedord

It did not turn out very much like something from Anthropologie, but I do kind of like it. I am concerned that it is a little on the old-lady-art-teacher side of things, but I always figured that was the direction I was headed, so I may as well embrace that broth-scented, macrame’d side of myself instead of fighting it. So I am going to wear this, proudly, until it falls apart all over the floor some day while I am standing in line at the DMV, or until I disassemble it and make something new. It only cost me about $12 in materials.

This entry was published on November 6, 2011 at 11:14 am and is filed under Art, Fashion, Projects, Shoes and Accessories, Websites. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Anthropologie-inspired necklace

  1. Some great statement pieces! Jen xoxo http://mystylisticlife.wordpress.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

