Holly Recommends…

Taliesin West in Scottsdale

I was lucky enough to grow up near Taliesin in Spring Green, Wisconsin. My parents loved nothing better than to drive around on a Sunday and teach us stuff, and any subject relating to Wisconsin lore and legend was especially popular. (Ask me about the Peshtigo fire! Ask me about lost gold in the bluffs near Mazomanie!* Ask me anything about Laura Ingalls Wilder!)

Honestly, I don’t remember these car trips being very fun. We had a tiny Chevette with black, plastic seats. In the summer the seats burned and in the winter they were like ice packs. Over the years they cracked and the cracks pinched anyone who wore shorts. Especially fat legged people like me. Until I was maybe seven or eight both my parents were smokers and it was like a nightclub in there. I don’t know how they could see out the windshield through the blue waves of smoke. There was a lot of elbow jabbing from both my brothers (I always had to sit in the middle because everyone was afraid I was fall out the door) and loud country music never stopped blaring. However, I appreciate all the things we saw and learned. As a result, I knew quite a bit more about Frank Lloyd Wright than most five year olds. To this day, I can’t resist a museum tour, so when we were in Scottsdale I was quite thrilled to be visiting Taliesin West. Too bad there was a storm rolling in during the last tour of the day, and we were unable to take the tour due to lightning. Well, here are some photos from the grounds and gift shop.

* I think my dad may have made up some of these stories.

Taliesin West in Scottsdale, Arizona. Photo by Holly Tierney-Bedord.

Taliesin West in Scottsdale, Arizona. Photo by Holly Tierney-Bedord.


Taliesin West in Scottsdale, Arizona. Photo by Holly Tierney-Bedord.

Taliesin West in Scottsdale, Arizona. Photo by Holly Tierney-Bedord.


Taliesin West in Scottsdale, Arizona. Photo by Holly Tierney-Bedord.

Taliesin West in Scottsdale, Arizona. Photo by Holly Tierney-Bedord.


A chair designed by Frank Lloyd Wright. Taliesin West in Scottsdale, Arizona. Photo by Holly Tierney-Bedord.

A chair designed by Frank Lloyd Wright. Taliesin West in Scottsdale, Arizona. Photo by Holly Tierney-Bedord.


A storm over Phoenix. Photo by Holly Tierney-Bedord.

A storm over Phoenix. Photo by Holly Tierney-Bedord.

This entry was published on March 12, 2013 at 3:13 pm. It’s filed under Nature, People, Photography, Places, Travel, Wisconsin and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Taliesin West in Scottsdale

  1. Spring Green here we come…

    Like

  2. Nice images of space. I found it’s quite interesting to view the space/place through different lenses…http://wp.me/p3bwN9-2X

    Like

Leave a Reply

