Holly Recommends…

Michael Sowa

In 1997 while studying in Austria, my fellow Americans and I took many side trips. One of them was to an art museum in Germany. I can’t even remember what city we were in any longer, but I do remember purchasing some postcards at the gift shop before leaving. One in particular caught my attention, since my mom and I both love rabbits. It was this:

Der Osterhase Kommt by Michael Sowa

Der Osterhase Kommt by Michael Sowa


When I translate from German to English, I often miss the point of what they’re trying to say, but I’m pretty sure this means “The Easter Bunny is Coming!” I either sent this postcard to her or gave it to her when I got home, and she still has it in her house. I’ve always loved its dark, moody mix of strange and cute, but I never knew or really even wondered who the artist was.
It turns out, it’s Michael Sowa.

According to Wikipedia, “Michael Sowa is a German artist known mainly for his paintings, which are variously whimsical, surreal, or stunning. His paintings often feature animals and are titled in English and German.”

He gained attention later when several of his paintings were featured in the film Amelie, and now many of his works are recognizable and his style is often copied.

Amelie, featuring works of art by Michael Sowa.

Amelie, featuring works of art by Michael Sowa. Photo credit: http://www.olivianita.com

Here are some other great examples of his work:

ms2

ms1

ms

Art by Michael Sowa

All examples by Michael Sowa

This entry was published on August 10, 2013 at 11:16 am. It’s filed under Animals, Art, Design, People, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Michael Sowa

  1. This work is so good to look at!
    Nice
    kind regards

    Like

  2. The spider painting looks familiar 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

