Holly Recommends…

Kitchen tour – Mixing old and new

kitchen6

Welcome to my kitchen! I like a good mix of old and new, and of store-bought and handmade (like the no-sew curtains I made, which I told you about last fall here or this handmade cutting board I discovered on Etsy, and told you about here). It’s not unlike how when I’m deciding what to wear, I often pair vintage jewelry with twenty-first century dresses, or top off a pair of pants and a blouse with a $10 thrift store blazer.

So many of the necklaces I see at places like J Crew and Anthropologie look like they’re inspired by necklaces I find for a few bucks at resale shops, garage sales, and estate sales. The same is true for the entire Anthropologie kitchen section. From the patterned mixing bowls to the cute kitchen towels, it looks and feels like you’re in an adorable kitchen from sixty or seventy years ago.

Stuff I like and where it comes from. Photo by Holly Tierney-Bedord. All rights reserved.

Stuff I like and where it comes from. Photo by Holly Tierney-Bedord. All rights reserved.

I love giving something old a new life, but secondhand purchases aren’t for everyone. If you find buying used things unappealing, consider this: Most of the new things you buy are made in some factory someplace. They are then packaged up and shipped across the world in huge ships. Then they are unpacked and put out on display where lots of people touch them and examine then before you buy them. The average person’s house is cleaner than a factory or a cargo ship, so how is buying something old that sat in someone’s house for years really any worse?

My kitchen has lots of white in it, to help tone it down. I guess I learned my lesson after living with a bright pink kitchen for years at our old house. Live and learn. I will find some pictures and post them sometime. It’s not as bad as it sounds, but then again, I wouldn’t recommend it either.

Kitchen tour. Photos by Holly Tierney-Bedord. All rights reserved.

Kitchen tour. Photos by Holly Tierney-Bedord. All rights reserved.

kitchen12

kitchen11

kitchen5

kitchen7

kitchen9

kitchen8

kitchen2

kitchen17

kitchen

Kitchen tour by Holly Tierney-Bedord. All rights reserved.

Kitchen tour by Holly Tierney-Bedord. All rights reserved.

This entry was published on July 18, 2014 at 5:44 pm. It’s filed under Decorating Ideas, Design, Home Staging Tips, Kitchen gadgets, Organization, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Kitchen tour – Mixing old and new

  1. Bill on said:

    I love this kitchen!

    Like

Leave a Reply

