Holly Recommends…

Meet author Kate O’Keeffe!

I’ve been featuring the authors who collaborated on It’s Beginning to Look a Lot Like Chick Lit. Today I’d like you all to meet New Zealander Kate O’Keeffe!

katePhoto courtesy of the author

 

Kate’s Bio:

I write funny, sexy, feel-good romantic comedies. 

I’ve loved rom coms, romance, and chick lit since I first encountered Bridget Jones as a young, impressionable writer. It really was a match made in chick lit heaven.

I’ve been a teacher and a sales executive, but am now content as a mother and writer, madly scribbling all the ideas I’ve accumulated during my time on this planet we call home.

I live and love in beautiful New Zealand–where my novels are set–with my wonderful family and my two very scruffy, naughty dogs. 

 

Here’s what Kate has to say about Christmas in New Zealand:

 

First of all, thank you so much, Holly, for having me on your blog! It’s been so fun working with you on our holiday anthology, It’s Beginning to Look a Lot Like Chick Lit.

 

And speaking of the anthology, the story I wrote for it is set at Christmastime in New York City, the first time I’ve ever written anything that’s not set in my home country, New Zealand. Why? Well, despite the fact Christmas in New Zealand falls in summer and we’re more likely to cook dinner up on a BBQ than roast a turkey, I wanted that old Christmas feeling for my story I think you can only get in a cold climate. There’s something magical about a white Christmas to me and my heroine, Tilly, is a New Zealand girl in New York who desperately wants a white Christmas. Does she get it? You’ll have to read my story in the anthology to find out!

 

So, what’s Christmas like in New Zealand? Well, it’s warm for a start! Santa swelters in his red synthetic suit, the pohutakawas—New Zealand’s Christmas tree—are in their beautiful red bloom, and the whole country lets out a collective breath before heading to the beach and forgetting about the world for a few weeks. Yup, New Zealand pretty much closes down from Christmas Eve until sometime towards the end of January to enjoy those lazy, hazy days of summer. On the day itself my family gets together, often at long tables piled high with delicious food outside in the shade, followed by the all important backyard cricket match, which everyone other than the very old participates in. It’s a great way to work off the feast and catch a few rays at  the same time, even though my ability to bowl is often hampered by the glass or two of champagne I may have indulged in… Then it’s time for the kids to break (I mean play with) their toys and for the grown ups to put their feet up for a well-deserved break. All in all it’s not a bad way to spend the day.

 

I wish you all happy holidays and a wonderful New Year, no matter where you are or what you’re doing, and I so hope you enjoy reading the wonderful stories in our It’s Beginning to Look a Lot Like Chick Lit anthology. Kate x

 

kate1

 

Want to keep up with Kate? Here are some ways to connect with her:

 

Links:

Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Kate-OKeeffe/e/B00KIZGG1O/

Website: www.kateokeeffe.com

Facebook: www.facebook.com/kateokeeffeauthor

Twitter: www.twitter.com/kateokeeffe4

 

Sign up for Kate’s quarterly newsletter to learn about new releases and be in the chance to win! http://kateokeeffe.com/newsletter

 

Thanks, Kate! Great to have you on my blog!

 

And if you haven’t gotten your copy of It’s Beginning to Look a Lot Like Chick Lit, here you go! It will be free soon, but if you can’t wait, it’s just 99 cents right now.

anthology1

 

This entry was published on November 4, 2016 at 5:08 pm. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

