Holly Recommends…

I found my perfect shelving unit!

I have been on the search for the perfect shelving unit for our new home. I knew I wanted something with clean, modern lines. Mid century modern or newer. I was initially thinking something like these that I mentioned last week:



However, shelving units like these, in good condition, can cost thousands of dollars.

There’s always Ikea, I decided. Something like this:

Ikea shelving unit



A great price, and a clean, non-fussy look. Unfortunately, we do not have an Ikea in Madison and the shipping cost for this unit takes this from bargain to splurge.


So, I took a look on Craigslist and found this great 1980’s three piece shelving unit! Just $50! It lights up, has a small drop lid desk, and plenty of storage for games or movies. I love it so much! I feel like we’re really getting settled in now, thanks to this addition to our living/dining room. And look: There’s even room for my precious terrarium I made last week!

My new shelving unit! Photo by Holly Tierney-Bedord.

This entry was published on November 13, 2012 at 8:07 am. It’s filed under Decorating Ideas, Design, Home Staging Tips, New To Me, Organization, Vintage and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

6 thoughts on “I found my perfect shelving unit!

  1. It looks great!

    Like

  2. Nice buy!
    $50 is a massive bargain!
    Cheers,
    Laura

    Like

  3. oh I see you found something, very nice! and yes, at an amazing price. It looks great!

    Like

Leave a Reply

